power of the broken

 

 

 

In this extremely eloquent post, Julie Peters discusses how those trainwreck moments in your life aren’t necessarily a bad thing – how when you feel the most lost and confused, you are actually at your most powerful because you can completely remold everything about you – an opportunity that you don’t really otherwise come across:

“In pieces, in a pile on the floor, with no idea how to go forward, your expectations of the future are meaningless. Your stories about the past do not apply. You are in flux, you are changing, you are flowing in a new way, and this is an incredibly powerful opportunity to become new again: to choose how you want to put yourself back together. Confusion can be an incredible teacher—how could you ever learn if you already had it all figured out?”

This is such a good way of looking at experiences that are normally considered low points in life.  I feel like I’ve known this for a while, and it doesn’t necessarily have to be only when your whole life is falling apart.  Whenever I’m a little bit broken or burned out or frustrated I always put myself back together again by just switching some of my pieces around.  I always end up with something new – usually a new hairstyle or a bunch of new recipes made.  I’ve also kind of for a while secretly enjoyed those mini-crisis moments because it meant dropping whatever I had on my schedule (which was always far too much, which often caused the mini-crisis moments) in favor of drawing pictures and writing poetry at the park, or going on a quest for fire-engine red leggings and dying my hair.  But I could never adequately explain why I secretly enjoyed them, why I felt far more revived and powerful afterwords than an afternoon of me-time would merit.  This is why, and I think your life will be all the better if you realize and act on the power you have even when you seem the most broken.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

