Vegan Mustard/Dill Cauliflower Casserole Experiment

I tried to scour the internet for cauliflower recipes, but most of them depend on ingredients I don’t have. My fridge is barren right now, and I don’t have any cheese, milk, or vegetable broth, but I felt like cauliflower and I felt like experimenting.  Here goes.

Vegan Mustard/Dill Cauliflower Casserole

Sauce:

Make this while preheating the oven at 350 degrees and while thawing the frozen cauliflower.

1/2 cup water, heat until boiling in pan

once boiling, mix in 1/2 cup of nutritional yeast. heat mixture until it starts to thicken.

once thickened, remove from heat (it will thicken more) and add:

1/4 tsp Dill Weed

1 tbsp dijon mustard (I used Annie’s)

1/2 tsp vegan Worcestershire sauce

black pepper, to taste

Casserole:

Mix the following in a 9×9 casserole dish:

DON’T FORGET TO LIGHTLY GREASE THE DISH, like I always do.

1 package of frozen cauliflower, thawed

1 can of Cannelloni beans

Mustard/Dill/ “cheese” sauce from above

Top with a layer of Italian breadcrumbs, and put in the oven for approximately 15 minutes.

The Verdict:

Sorry to share a recipe that is not utterly fantasmic with you, but that’s just it. I’m honest and this recipe is definitely good, especially for being something as unique as a vegan mustard dill cauliflower casserole, but it is not stellar. That being said, it is something I’d definitely make again if I was craving these flavors and it something that is worth a try at least once (especially if you are a nutritional yeast fan – I’m actually not). It is one of the only vegan cauliflower casseroles of its kind that I’ve come across, and probably my first “from scratch” creation ever.  It would probably help a LOT if your cauliflower better quality (mine was past the date, frozen, and yellow-tan ish… I really hope that was freezer burn and not spoilage). I typed this up as I was eating it, and I must say, it does actually grow on you. And if you’re not a huge mustard fan, you’ll probably still like it, because the mustard is more subtle.  So if your fridge is void of dairy products, you don’t even have vegetable broth, and you really don’t feel like eating any pasta or rice, then this is a good, very basic alternative!

Pros: this recipe is really filling, due to the beans and the nutritional yeast. I’d say if you are using this as a side dish, it makes around 5 portions. If you’re using it as a full meal, it makes around 2 or 3, depending on how hungry you are. (I eat like a ravenous beast and got 2).

Hot or cold?: It was intended to be eaten hot, but tastes great room temperature too!

Leave a Reply

